Monday, July 11, 2016

Education In England, Britain

In this article we will focus on the discussion of the quality of the education in Britain schools and universities

Education in England is overseen by the
United Kingdom's Department for Education
 and Department for Business, Innovation and Skills.
Local government authorities are responsible for
 implementing policy for public education and state-funded schools at a local level.

The education system is divided into stages based
upon age: Early Years Foundation Stage (ages 3–5),
primary education (ages 5–11), secondary education
(ages 11–18) and tertiary education (ages 18+).

From the age of 16 there is a two-year period
of education known as "sixth form" or "college"
 which typically leads to A-level qualifications
 (similar to a high school diploma in some other
 countries), or a number of alternative qualifications
 such as BTEC, the International Baccalaureate or the Cambridge Pre-U.

England also has a tradition of independent
schooling and Home schooling; legally, parents
 may choose to educate their children by any suitable means.

Higher education often begins with a three-year
bachelor's degree. Postgraduate degrees include master's
 degrees, either taught or by research, and the doctorate,
 a research degree that usually takes at least three years.
Universities require a Royal Charter in order to issue degrees
 and all but one are financed by the state via tuition fees,
 which cost up to £9,000 per academic year for English, Welsh and European Union students.

Labels: ,


Post a Comment

Subscribe to Post Comments [Atom]

<< Home